Listen Live

HomeNewsFederal Election 2019: Kootenay-Columbia Votes

Federal Election 2019: Kootenay-Columbia Votes

Monday is Election Day across Canada as voters head to the polls in Kootenay-Columbia to cast their ballots for one of six candidates seeking to become the riding’s next Member of Parliament.

Voting stations open at 8:00 am and will close at 8:00 pm across the riding.

Incumbent NDP candidate Wayne Stetski is seeking re-election in Kootenay-Columbia but is being challenged by five other candidates, including Rob Morrison of the Conservative Party, Robin Goldsbury for the Liberal Party, and Abra Brynne of the Green Party, who are all representing the four major political parties in Canada. However, both Rick Stewart of the People’s Party and Trev Miller of the Animal Protection Party have also thrown their hat in the ring in hopes of securing the seat in Ottawa.

Full Kootenay-Columbia Candidate Profiles:

Abra Brynne, Green Party
Robin Goldsbury, Liberal Party
Trev Miller, Animal Protection Party
Rob Morrison, Conservative Party
Wayne Stetski, New Democratic Party
Rick Stewart, People’s Party

- Advertisement -

In order to vote, you should have received a voter information card in the mail, notifying you of your assigned polling station.

If you didn’t receive a voter information card or are unsure where to vote, you can enter your postal code or address here. To cast a ballot in the 2019 federal election, residents will need to bring at least one piece of identification, either a driver’s license or any government-issued piece of identification with your photo, name, and address. Other options include two pieces of identification that include your name and address such as a utility bill, student ID card, bank statement, or voter information card. If you don’t have any ID, Elections Canada will still allow you to vote if you have a witness that can address in writing and declare your identity. and 2dayFM in Cranbrook/Kimberley (107.5 FM), Invermere (107.7 FM), Fernie (107.9 FM), and Sparwood (107.1 FM) will have live election results once polls close at 8:00 pm.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Continue Reading