Listen Live

HomeNewsCandidates Coming to Cranbrook for All-Candidates Forum

Candidates Coming to Cranbrook for All-Candidates Forum

The Cranbrook All-Candidates Forum is being held Tuesday at the Key City Theatre, as all seven federal election candidates in Kootenay-Columbia are confirmed to be in attendance to answer questions from the public and outline their platforms.

JCI Kootenay is hosting the All-Candidates Forum, as they will be opening the doors to Key City Theatre at 6:30 pm.

“I encourage everyone to come and bring your questions and hear what the candidates have to say,” Coco Seitz told, Chapter President of JCI Kootenay. “Be there to listen and really listen what they have to say and then to make the right choice when you vote on voting day.”

Volunteers with JCI Kootenay will be collecting questions at the door, which will then be sorted and filtered before they will be randomly drawn by the moderator at the forum and asked to the candidates, with each representative getting two minutes to respond.

- Advertisement -

All seven candidates will be given three minutes to make an opening statement and will have four chances to rebuttal, getting two minutes to respond to another candidate’s answer.

Seitz said they wanted to provide an equal opportunity for all candidates to have their message heard, and for the public to be informed and educated about who is running in Kootenay-Columbia.

“JCI has been hosting All-Canadidates Forum for the last 12 years for different elections,” added Seitz. “We are non-partisan and we wanted to bring this even play field, platform, for our community.”

Voters head to the polls on October 21st to elect their next Member of Parliament in Kootenay-Columbia and to elect their next federal government.

“Moving forward as Canada, we have a big decision to make and everyone’s got their own opinion,” Seitz told “In this way, the candidates also have an opportunity to tell or convince our local community why they are the best candidate for the job and they have the best interest for this riding.”

The seven candidates in the riding include incumbent Wayne Stetski of the NDP, Rob Morrison of the Conservatives, Robin Goldsubury of the Liberal, Abra Brynne of the Green Party, Rick Stewart for the People’s Party, Trev Miller for the Animal Protection Party, and Terry Tiessen of the Libertarian Party.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Continue Reading