Listen Live

HomeNewsLocal voting information for 2020 B.C. Election

Local voting information for 2020 B.C. Election

Saturday is election day in B.C. as voters head to the polls to elect their local MLAs and the next provincial government.

Polling stations open at 9:00 am (MT) and close at 9:00 pm (MT) in both Kootenay East and Columbia River-Revelstoke.

Every registered voter should have received a Where to Vote card in the mail, notifying people where they can vote on Saturday. If you have not registered to vote, you can either visit the district electoral office in your riding or stop by any voting station.

“Normally it is faster to vote at your assigned voting place, but you can vote at another voting place if it is more convenient to you,” said Elections BC.

- Advertisement -

Those wanting to vote can cast a ballot at any general voting location between 9:00 am and 9:00 pm (MT). Residents can also vote at the district electoral offices from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm (MT).

All completed vote-by-mail packages that were not put in the mail by last Saturday, October 17th can be dropped off at any location during general voting hours. Those that may have sent their vote-by-mail packages in the mail after that time should be extra cautious and still vote on Saturday. According to Elections BC, all mail-in ballots are scrutinized, so if the package did arrive on time and still cast a ballot, you are guaranteeing your vote is counted on election night.

“All vote-by-mail packages are screened for compliance with the Election Act before being accepted for counting.”

In order to vote, residents must bring a valid piece of identification that shows a name and home address. Voters should also bring their Where to Vote card to expedite the voting process. If voters wish, Elections BC said they can bring their own pen or pencil to mark their ballot, as well as a mask.

“We encourage voters to wear a mask when they vote to protect others. You will not be asked to remove your mask to vote.”

Given the COVID-19 pandemic, Elections BC has also implemented the following protocols at all voting locations:

  • Physical distancing
  • Capacity limits
  • Protective barriers
  • Hand sanitizing stations
  • Election officials wearing personal protective equipment (such as masks and face-visors)
  • Frequent cleaning of voting stations and frequently touched surfaces
  • Election workers trained on safe workplace guidelines and pandemic protocols

MORE: Voting Safety and COVID-19 (Elections BC)

MORE: Safe Voting Places Plan (Elections BC)

Below is a list of all general voting locations in Kootenay East and Columbia River-Revelstoke, as well as each riding’s district electoral office:

Kootenay East

  • Baynes Lake
    • Baynes Lake Community Club – 468 Jaffray-Baynes Lake Road
  • Cranbrook
    • Days Inn Conference Ballroom – 600 Cranbrook Street N
    • Fraternal Order of the Eagles Hall – 715 Kootenay Street N
    • Heritage Inn – 803 Cranbrook Street N
    • Kootenay East DEO – C-520 Slater Road NW
    • Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort – 209 Van Horne Street S
  • Elkford
    • Elkford Community Conference Centre (DBL Meeting Room) – 750 Fording Drive
  • Elko
    • Elko Community Hall – 5445 Bate Avenue
  • Fernie
    • Fernie Community Centre – 901 6th Avenue
  • Fort Steele
    • Fort Steele Visitor Centre (The Gate House) – 9851 Highway 93/95
  • Grasmere
    • Grasmere Pioneer Hall – 5880 Grasmere-Dorr Rd
  • Hosmer
    • Hosmer Community Centre – 7431 6th Avenue
  • Jaffray
    • Sand Creek Senior’s Centre – 7205 Rosen Lake Road
  • Moyie
    • Moyie Community Hall – 9322 Tavistock Road
  • Sparwood
    • Sparwood Recreation Centre (Curling Club) – 367 Pine Avenue
    • Sparwood Senior’s Centre – 101 4th Avenue
  • St. Eugene Mission
    • Aqamnik Elementary School – 7500 Mission Road
  • Wardner
    • Wardner Community Association – 6211 Cartwright Street

Columbia River-Revelstoke

  • Brisco
    • Brisco Community Hall – 4930 Dorney Road
  • Canal Flats
    • Canal Flats Civic Centre – 8911 Dunn Street
  • Edgewater
    • Edgewater Legion Hall – 4858 Cordillera Avenue
  • Fairmont Hot Springs
    • Fairmont and District Lions Club – 5003 Hot Springs Road
  • Field
    • Field Community Centre – 315 Stephen Avenue
  • Golden
    • Golden Civic Centre – 806 10th Street S
  • Invermere
    • Columbia Valley Centre – 646 4th Street
  • Kimberley
    • Bootleg Gap Golf Course Clubhouse – 400 315th Avenue
    • Kimberley Centennial Hall – 100 4th Avenue
  • Nicholson
    • Nicholson Fire Hall – 801 Highway 95
  • Radium Hot Springs
    • Columbia River-Revelstoke DEO – 7585 West Main Street
    • Radium Hot Springs Centre – 4863 Stanley Street
  • Revelstoke
    • Revelstoke Community Centre – 600 Campbell Avenue
  • Windermere
    • Windermere Community Hall – 4726 North Street
  • Wasa
    • Wasa Community Church – 6734 Highway 93/95

MORE: Where to Vote (Elections BC)

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Continue Reading